Skip to content ↓

Moulton CEVC Primary School


Our curriculum

Maintained primary schools are expected to follow the 2014 National Curriculum. (See link below)

In all aspects of school life, we strive for our children to...

  • Love learning!
  • Play an active role in their learning
  • Feel safe to make mistakes
  • Feel valued and have their achievements celebrated
  • Take responsibility for their learning
  • Make connections in their learning
  • Be prepared for life in Modern Britain
  • Leave our school feeling confident and ready to transfer to secondary school

Our three values (Individuality, responsibility and community) underpin the teaching & learning, the behaviour and the collective code of conduct in our school.

Our three core values are at the heart of our curriculum. Our curriculum is designed to support each child to become an independent and resilient individual, who takes responsibility for themselves and who makes positive contributions to local and global communities. We aim to develop our pupils’ understanding of the world beyond our small village, and for them to have aspirations of making a positive global impact. We value each child as an individual with a unique potential for learning, and with the ability to embrace and embody Christian values.

We know that children remember knowledge content if they are able to revisit and build on previous learning. Our curriculum has four threads, which are linked to our core values. In each topic, pupils will learn new knowledge and develop their skills with activities, tasks and experience within one of the four threads:

  1. Leaders through time
  2. Changing Communities
  3. Modernising medicine
  4. Ethics and citizenship

Leaders through time

Pupils will study the impact of significant leaders and individuals on local and global communities. Pupils will explore leaders’ courage, resilience and their desire and motivation to shape the future. This includes pupils comparing and evaluating positive and negative role models. Pupils will be encouraged to reflect on themselves, their individual talents, their leadership skills and how they contribute to an inclusive environment.  They will consider the impact they have on their peers, their family, and our world, as well as their own physical and digital legacy.

Changing Communities

Pupils will explore physical and online communities and the people within them. They will compare communities and explore how individuals, technological advances and circumstances acted as a catalyst for change to that community. Pupils will explore whether communities embraced and adapted to the change, or if they fought against it. Pupils will learn about the value of compromise and teamwork within their changing class communities when pupils join and leave our school. Pupils will understand that communities can be close to home, their wider locality, nation, international and global.

Modernising Medicine

Pupils will learn how medical advances and forward-thinking have helped humans to be healthier, and to lead longer, happier lives. Pupils will explore the importance of mental health and recognise that it is now accepted as part of our overall health and well-being. Pupils will learn how individuals should take responsibility for their own health, and how they can look after themselves. They will explore the role of key individuals who have made significant contributions to the medical community, and feel inspired to grow into an adult that can help others. 

Ethics and citizenship

Pupils will be encouraged to analyse and debate historical and modern day issues and dilemmas, and to suggest improvements and ways to solve problems. They will be taught to think critically about the evidence and sources on which they form their opinions. Our curriculum provides opportunities for pupils to develop their speaking and listening skills, and to learn how to respond respectfully to others’ opinions. They will learn about the importance of honesty, and to think carefully about how they portray others.


Children in our Reception Class follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework which comprises 7 areas: Communication and language, Physical development, Personal, social and emotional development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the world and Expressive arts and design.

The curriculum for children in Year 1 to Year 6 covers the following subjects: English (incorporating writing, reading and communication), Mathematics, Science, Art and design, Computing, Design and technology, Geography, History, Languages (optional in Key Stage 1), Music, Personal, social and health education (PSHE), Religious education (RE) and Sex and Relationships education Key Stage 2 (SRE).